Falafel and Garlic Hummus Pizza

Don’t you just love it when a new recipe idea pops into your head, and you realize that you already have every ingredient you need?

Last night, the plan was pizza. Fully loaded falafel pizza. You see, I found myself at a Greek restaurant a little while back with some friends, and after searching the entire menu the only thing I could find that could be veganized was their pizza. (Well, either that or a salad.) So, I asked for a cheeseless pizza, and what I got was an impossibly dry crust scattered with a few slices of tomato and bell pepper. It was not at all the restaurant’s fault, though. I should have gotten creative and asked them to replace the cheese with hummus or baba ganoush. Every experience is a new learning curve!

Needless to say, I’ve been in serious need of some pizza redemption.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All I did for this pizza was take a large whole wheat pita and spread on some basil tomato sauce. Then, I stacked it with layer upon layer of my favorite veggies, topped with some homemade falafels and a drizzle of garlic hummus that I made the other day. Adding hummus to a cheeseless pizza is a fantastic way of giving it that rich, creamy texture.

Here’s the full ingredient list:

  • Large whole wheat pita
  • Basil tomato sauce
  • Sliced up falafel (click here to check out my recipe)
  • Garlic hummus (recipe here)
  • Mayan sweet onion
  • Spinach
  • Bell peppers (I sauteed mine in water and soy sauce)
  • Tomato slices
  • Green beans
  • Crushed chili peppers, black pepper, and Cajun spice sprinkled over top

Then, I just put this in a pan with the lid on and let it simmer at low heat on the stove for about 15 minutes. No oven required. When I was ready to eat, I raised the temperature to get the crust all crispy, and that’s all there was to it. Extremely satisfying, oil-free, vegan pizza in no time at all!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

14 thoughts on “Falafel and Garlic Hummus Pizza

  1. That’s a nice take on pizza. I have tasted ranch as a base for pizza, but never thought of adding hummus or baba ganoush! I really like fusions from different cultures, will try that one soon.

    1. Yes, hummus on pizza is wonderful. It adds a creamy richness, which makes you completely forget that it doesn’t have cheese on it. Pesto is also pretty good!

    1. The thought process behind it was hummus to replace the creaminess of cheese, and falafels as meatballs to give it some depth and heartiness. Totally works!

    1. Thank you! It’s a new favorite for me as well! I was so happy to discover that I could make a satisfying pizza at home in just minutes. I think you will love it! 🙂

  2. Mmmmmm! I often bake a sweet potato and then slice pieces onto an Amy’s no-cheese pizza. Then I spread Earth Island shreds on top and crumble chopped, frozen kale (I do this myself) on top before baking for 15 minutes. I will definitely try this recipe soon. Thanks once again, Elle!

    P.S. With pitas, I freeze them, then thaw so they are a bit flexible. I use a rolling pin to flatten them out and brush with e.v.o.o. before topping them.

    1. Ah yes, I’ve heard about sweet potato slices on pizza! Never tried it before, but it’s definitely on my list. I love the idea of kale, too. What a decadent sounding pizza! I’m curious why you use a rolling pin to flatten out your pita. The ones that I buy are already very flat, so I can’t imagine getting them any flatter. Are the pita you use a thicker variety?

      1. Actually, I’m always looking for a thicker type of pita so that I can stuff them, but I can only ever find the flat ones to be used as wraps! Do you go to a certain type of shop for them?

Leave a Reply

