Oil-free Vegan Falafels (with a twist!)

I’ve been craving falafels lately (I mean, who doesn’t from time to time?!), so I decided to have a go at making them at home. The ready-made ones in the supermarkets are quite pricey plus they are deep fried in oil, so I figured it was pretty much a win-win if I could successfully make some oil-free versions at home. Healthier, cheaper…and surprisingly delicious if I do say so myself!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is different from the standard falafel recipe, as you may notice. I mixed in some Indian spices, plus I used a cheesecloth to separate the chickpea “milk” from the chickpea pulp. I then used the milkย afterwards for an exciting vegan cheesecake recipe which I’ll be posting about shortly!

Here are the ingredients I used for the falafels:

  • one cup dry chickpeas
  • sweet Mayan onion
  • fenugreek leaves (a handful of parsely would be more conventional, but I love the taste of fenugreek)
  • tahini
  • garam masala
  • madras curry powder
  • cumin
  • ajwain
  • crushed chili pepper
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • starch (if needed to help hold the mixture together)

I started by soaking the chickpeas overnight. A traditional falafel recipe would then blend the water and the chickpeas together with all of the ingredients, but instead, the next morning I blended the chickpeas and the water until smooth, and then used a fine cheesecloth to drain out all the chickpea milk and set that aside for my dessert recipe!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Draining out the milk
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
chickpea milk
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
chickpea pulp

Into the chickpea pulp, I mixed the rest of the ingredients listed above. Then, I just rolled the mixture into little balls and then grilled them up until they had a nice crispyness on the outside. That’s really all there is to it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
All the ingredients mixed in, and ready to grill!

I served this with homemade hummus and a simple tahini sauce. For the tahini dressing, I just mixed together the following:

  • tahini
  • lemon juice
  • fresh garlic paste (garlic powder would also work well)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just for fun, I also tried making these mini falafel donuts. Same recipe, same process…but cuter.

32 thoughts on “Oil-free Vegan Falafels (with a twist!)

    1. That’s amazing, thanks! I’d love to hear how they turn out! Sorry about the lack of accurate measurements in my recipe…I always just throw in random things and keep adding as I like, so I never know exactly how much I put in. On the upside though, I never have to eat the same thing twice haha XD

      1. I’m glad I’m not the only one! I figure everyone has a different taste anyways, and knows how much chili, etc., they’d like…and it would not necessarily be the same as me ๐Ÿ˜›

      2. Precisely! If everyone stuck to exact measurements, we’d never discover new recipes. What a shame that would be ๐Ÿ˜›

    1. I’m still adjusting the recipe to figure out the right combination of ingredients. There are two more mini chickpea cheesecakes sitting in the fridge right now that I should sample first. No problem, though…just an excuse to eat more dessert!! hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. I really like your version of falafels. I also love (and crave) falafels a lot, but I do avoid making them at home because of deep frying business. I tried to bake them, but it didn’t work out. So your method sounds more appealing ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

    1. Thanks for the kind words! I always use my contact grill for this sort of thing because cooking it from both sides at the same time helps the mixture stay together, plus it forms a lovely toasted crispiness on the outside!

    1. This was my first time trying it as well! If you’ve ever tried straight up plain soy milk, the type that you can make tofu with (no additives or flavoring like in So Good or Silk), that’s sort of what chickpea milk tastes like. Not so great for drinking straight, but I did add some to a batch of Thai curry as a coconut milk replacement, and it turned out nice and creamy!

Leave a Reply

