Festival in Hitachi and Miso Ramen Lunch

On a weekend visit to Hitachi city, I happened to stumble across a festival right outside the main train station. It was an afternoon event with food stalls, live music, and stand-up comedians. There was also a performance put on especially for the kids, featuring characters from a hugely popular cartoon series called Crayon Shin-chan. (I totally forgot about this show. I haven’t seen it in years!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hitachi city is well known for being the home of the huge multinational company, Hitachi Ltd., and the festival was actually hosted by them as a way of thanking the company workers and their families for their constant dedication and hard work. The main goal of the event was to give everyone a place to gather together and relax (not to make money), so everything was ridiculously cheap and laid back. Almost everything was $1…even the beer!

For lunch, I enjoyed a bowl of miso ramen topped with corn, cabbage, and green onions. After hanging out at the festival for a couple hours, I walked down the street to see a performance by a local high school band. I had originally just planned to head to Hitachi to do a bit of shopping, but I guess I got really lucky!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

19 thoughts on “Festival in Hitachi and Miso Ramen Lunch

    1. Not just kids…secretly, I had way too much fun too hahaha! Did you try making the miso ramen? I made some the other day at home, too. I like to add in a little tahini to make the broth creamy. Totally takes it to the next level!

    1. Haha yeah isn’t $1 insane? The standard for crepes, beer, noodles, and yakisoba at Japanese festivals is about $5, so this was heaven! And, totally well deserved for the hard work that everyone puts into the company, too, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

