Soba Noodles and Pesto for Dinner

Here’s what a typical dinner can look like for me while in Japan. You can of course easily buy regular spaghetti noodles here, but I’ve found that using soba (buckwheat noodles) as an alternative is so amazing!

Soba is usually eaten in the traditional Japanese style with a soy sauce based broth. So, serving them the way I do is unconventional, but I find that the nutty flavor of the buckwheat goes perfectly with pesto.

I just put a bundle of soba noodles into a pot of boiling water and let them simmer for about seven minutes. After draining, I top them with a bit of pesto, some fresh basil leaves and whatever other veggies a have at hand. Today, I dressed it up with a handful of tomatoes, cucumbers, onion, daikon radish, and black beans.

Not only does soba taste good, but it’s actually an incredibly healthy alternative to white spaghetti noodles, as it’s much higher in protein and fiber. Buckwheat also contains no gluten, so if you can find soba noodles using 100% buckwheat flour, it’s gluten free as well!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

32 thoughts on “Soba Noodles and Pesto for Dinner

  1. This looks absolutely wonderful. I don’t think that I’ve ever had soba. I’m going to have to look for it the next time I’m at an international grocery.

    1. Thank you! Yes, soba should be fairly easy to find anywhere that sells Japanese ingredients. I’d love to know what you think of it!

    1. Thanks! Yes, soba is the perfect vegetarian food. And, luckily its one of the staple meals here in Japan so it’s easy to find everywhere I go. I hope you get to try it out!

      1. Is it? I wasnt aware of this! In India we use buckwheat flour a lot…to make fritters, flat breads, etc. Especially during fasting festivals. But buckwheat noodles i did not know of. Thanks for letting know…will try and check out if these are available in india…thank you for sharing!

      2. Interesting! Buckwheat is very important in traditional Japanese cuisine. It’s mainly used for soba noodles, but it’s also made into dumplings. I didn’t realize that it was used in Indian food, though! Buckwheat flatbread sounds great! I make chapatti with atta flour but I’d like to try with buckwheat flour 😀

      3. Yes…it tastes great…just try it using boiled potatoes….buckwheat flout with boiled mashed potatoes, green chillies, salt and pepper…kneed it into a dough…make the breads…the dough usually isnt as pliable as the wheat flour and becomes soggy if left for long….so make the dough and immediately make the flat breads…:)

    1. Exactly! It also doesn’t give you that heavy feeling like white pasta does. I’m hooked on soba now. I’m so glad I discovered it 😛

    1. Aw thank you! Me too, I love everything about soba. And while I’ve been in Japan I’ve been realizing just how versatile they are, too, which has been fun 🙂

    1. Haha me too! And, guess what I tried for the first time the other day! It’s called “kare namban”, which is basically a big bowl of soba in a curry broth. Soo good 😀

    1. I know, it’s hard to find even here in Japan! Most of the time it’s mixed with a bit of wheat flour. I’ve had 100% buckwheat soba a few times and the noodles fall apart much more easily, but they’re delicious! 😀

    1. Me too! In Vancouver, they’re a bit of a luxury but in Japan they are so abundant that I just use them for everything. Why buy spaghetti noodles when I can use soba?! Soo good.

Leave a Reply

