Fresh Yomogi Bread with Red Bean Paste

On Friday, I had a bit of free time and took the chance to catch up on some grocery shopping. There is a really tempting bakery along the way to the grocery store and every time I walk past, I always think that I would love to buy bread there sometime but I’ve just never gotten around to it. This time though, I really couldn’t help it…just as I looked over, a lady was bringing out a tray of freshly baked yomogi buns filled with sweet red bean paste.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve talked before about yomogi, which is known in English as “Japanese mugwart” (or, Artemisia princeps if you want to get technical!). It’s been used in Japanese sweets for centuries, being incorporated into mochi (gooey rice cakes) to give them an emerald green colour and a pleasant grassy flavour.

Using yomogi in bread seems to be a newer trend that I’ve noticed here and there while in Japan this time. The grassy flavour and green color are not as strong when baked into bread rolls, but there’s just enough to give it that distinct yomogi character. I’m really happy to have discovered this and I’m looking forward to trying out other yomogi breads!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

24 thoughts on “Fresh Yomogi Bread with Red Bean Paste

    1. Haha I know what you mean! That’s how I always used to feel when I was back in Vancouver and looking at people’s blogs about their travels in Japan. I guess that’s part of the reason why I’m here now. The sweets alone are worth it! hehe 😛

  1. They look so wonderfully tempting …beautiful photos… I am constantly amazed by the variety of Japanese sweet delicacies that you’re sharing….gorgeous…!

    1. Aw thank you! I really appreciate that! I’m having so much fun trying out all these amazing sweets, and I always can’t wait to load my photos onto the computer and blog about them hehehe 😀 I’m so glad that you like the posts!

    1. I hope you do! They seem to be getting more and more common. I just noticed that they even sell them at convenience stores here now! I picked up a couple. They probably won’t be as good as this bakery one, but I’m looking forward to trying it out for lunch 😛

  2. Ahh, anything red bean related has my heart. I really want to try this!
    Did I tell you that I’m going to the Sunshine Coast this summer? I’ll be there for a week in mid-August with my family. Super excited!

    1. Oh that’s awesome!! It’s about time for another visit to the Coast haha! Well, let me know when you’re there because I’m sometimes there in August. It’s the absolute best time to be on the Coast! I’m excited to read all about it on your blog 😀

Leave a Reply

