They Hatched! Baby Black Swans at Senba Lake

Yesterday, I went out to the famous Senba Lake in Mito. It’s lined with a soft path, making it a popular place for running and cycling. (Or, as I do, just walking very slowly and stopping often to gawk at all the stunning birds.) There are so many neat species of birds busily doing their thing by the lakeside. The most impressive are the whooper swans and the black swans, but there are also all sorts of ducks, song birds, and other waterfowl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Every season, there is something different to admire about this spot. Earlier this spring, the main attraction was the countless fluffy pink cherry trees surrounding the lake. Now, there’s a much more subtle (but cuter!) attraction.

When I went to Senba Lake a few weeks ago, most of swans were either building their nests, or had already laid their eggs. People here leave the birds alone so the birds have a very relaxed attitude toward humans. They don’t even flinch if you walk right up to them, and they will trustingly go for a swim in the lake and leave their eggs out in the open right there along the walking path!

It struck me that if I went back there again this weekend, the eggs would probably have hatched by now, so that’s what drew me back again yesterday!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

21 thoughts on “They Hatched! Baby Black Swans at Senba Lake

    1. Hahaha you noticed!! I was wondering whether or not to point that out in my post, but I decided to leave it and see if anyone picked up on how huge its feet are! Must be hard to walk hehe

      1. I pride myself on how observant I am. Ha ha. They jumped out at me, rather eclipsing everything else, I’m afraid. 😉

  1. I love cygnets and was always amazed those cute fluffy things turn into big black swans…. I never saw black swans in Japan. I’m not a big fan. I used to get chased as a kid 😳

    1. Haha the ones in Japan are pretty tame (unless you get too close to their nest)! I know what you mean, though. Growing up in Vancouver, I used to get chased by Canada geese. They actually hiss at you! 😛

Leave a Reply

