An Ocean of Blue Flowers at Kaihin Park

On the last day of the Golden Week holiday, I made a visit out to Kaihin Park. At the train station, I bought a pass for 1,100 yen (about $11) which covered a short train ride, and then from there a bus that took us another five minutes out to the park itself. The ticket also of course covered the entrance fee, so overall not a bad deal!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The park was absolutely massive. There was actually a bike rental right by the entrance because it would take all day to explore the whole area on foot. Basically, Kaihin Park has a special ground for any outdoor sport or activity that you can think of. Climbing, baseball, BMX, Frisbee, barbeques, cycling, hiking…you name it. There’s even a full on amusement park with a roller coaster and tons of other rides! There are multiple food stand areas and restaurants scattered throughout Kaihin Park as well, depending on whether you just want a quick treat, or a proper dining experience. I’ve never seen anything like it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The main attraction at this time of year is the Nemophila flowers, which I hear are often called “baby blue eyes”. There are sprawling hills absolutely covered in these gorgeous little blue flowers. I went there right at the end of the season so there was a lot of green grass mixed in with the blue of the flowers, but at peak bloom, the hills are basically covered in a solid blue ocean of Nemophila. Apparently, they grow something like 4.5 million of them each spring. It’s quite a sight!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I was walking down the hills, I came across an old historical farmhouse and was lucky enough to catch a traditional storytelling session. The audience was seated around a big fire pit in the middle of the floor while a lady told story after story in an authentic Fukushima dialect. Storytelling has been a huge part of Japanese culture for hundreds if not thousands of years, and it’s something that I’ve always been interested in experiencing firsthand. So, this was one of the highlights of the day for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “An Ocean of Blue Flowers at Kaihin Park

  1. The flower itself and the color just pop out, and with that many …. truly is a sight to see. I can’t miss it next year. I can’t. I’d walk there if I have to. 🙂 That’s how badly I want to be there. Thanks for taking me here. Great, great captures.

    1. Haha I love how eager you are to visit! To be honest, I didn’t know what would be so special about it before I went. I just ended up going one weekend because some people that I chatted to in a park in Mito recommended that I visit right away. So, I headed back to train station and went that afternoon. Best decision!

Leave a Reply

