Japanese Cherry Blossom Cakes

This post is coming a little late in the season now that the last of the cherry blossoms have finally all fallen, but I still can’t help but do one last sakura-themed post! I had always been interested in trying sakura mochi since one of my friends described it as her favorite Japanese dessert. Plus, I mean…they just look so pretty! I was lucky enough to find two different types of traditional cherry blossom sweets together in one package so I could try out both of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The one on the left is the sakura mochi. It consists of a small pink crepe wrapped around a ball of lightly sweetened red bean paste.  On the right is the domyoji. It’s a soft gooey cake made out of pounded rice, and has the same red bean filling inside. Both of these sweets have a pickled shiso leaf folded around them. Don’t peel it off though…you are supposed to eat everything the way it is! The leaf is very thin and soft so it’s easy to bite into. It has a salty taste to it which actually contrasts very nicely with the sweetness of the cake. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the balance of the savory leaf and the sugary cake is perfect!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

25 thoughts on “Japanese Cherry Blossom Cakes

    1. Haha exactly! I love how Japanese sweets are so seasonal! The sakura mochi are already being switched out of the shops and replaced with other sweets to match late spring. 🙂

    1. They really are very good! I wasn’t sure how I would like the sweet and salty mixed together, but it works out perfectly. I hope you do get the chance to try them sometime!

    1. Haha oh good, I’m glad you think so! It’s just too bad they don’t sell these year round. They come and go in the shops so quickly!

      1. Oh my gosh, Guy! How is it possible that you’ve never heard of Konbiniya? Hahaha! It’s the main Japanese grocery store in Van. It’s downtown on Robson St. I go there all the time because you can get pretty much any Japanese food there. They even have a little Japanese cafe inside the store. You have to go sometime! 😀

      2. Yup, they do! The koji is in the little fridge to the left as soon as you enter the store. You can also buy locally made koji at the Powell Street festival at the end of this month. I got some there last summer. So good!

Leave a Reply

