Soba Buckwheat Noodles for Breakfast

One of my favorite meals that I like to throw together while here in Japan is a big bowl of soba noodles. It’s perfect in every way! It’s healthy, cheap, quick, easy, vegan, and delicious. When it’s cold outside you can serve it in a hot soup. Or, when it’s warm out you can eat it zaru soba style with a small bowl of cold broth on the side, which you dip bite-size portions of the soba noodles into bit by bit as you eat them.

For breakfast, I enjoyed a bowl of hot soba noodles in a soy sauce-based soup. I added in some wakame seaweed and fluffy agedashi tofu, and topped off the dish with Japanese chili powder and slices of fresh green onion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

9 thoughts on “Soba Buckwheat Noodles for Breakfast

  1. I’ve recently been going down the Japanese breakfast route, but mostly just knocking together some miso soup with tofu and shimeji mushrooms, but I think I’m going to start to add in some Soba now!

  2. Do you make your own soy based soup? Do you know of an easy recipe maybe? I just returned from Japan and I’m now obsessed with all there different noodle broths… >_<

    1. I do make my own broth. It’s not traditional at all, but it’s easy and tastes pretty great to me! What I do is if I happened to cook other vegetables that day or the day before, I keep that water. For example, the water left over from steaming veggies, boiling potatoes, or making a big hot pot of diced up daikon, carrots, shiitake, onions, etc. That water already has a lot of great flavor and nutrients, so I just add some soy sauce to that and use it as a simple and healthy soup for my soba noodles! If I don’t happen to have water from cooking veggies, I use a bit of vegetable soup stock (the “Better Than Bouillon” brand is my favorite) and then add some soy sauce to that. The most important part is to pick a good quality Japanese soy sauce that you like the flavor of. If I’m just making Chinese-style stir fried vegetables or something like that where I’m adding a bunch of other spices, I can use a cheaper soy sauce like Kikkoman. But, when the soy sauce is the main source of flavor like in this soba soup stock, I use one that I love the taste of. The standard way of preparing soba stock of home these days is to buy a powdered dashi pack or a bottle of “men-tsuyu” at the store, but these are loaded with MSG and other chemicals, so this is the way I always make my soba or udon soup!! I hope you give it a try 😀

Leave a comment