Traditional Puppet Show under the Sakura Blossoms

As promised, here are the photos that I took at the cherry blossom festival in Hitachi last weekend. In the previous post I wrote about the pre-event, but for the full celebration on Saturday, the cherry blossoms were at their absolute peak. The spring weather was gorgeous and I don’t think they could have picked a better date. The timing was perfect!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The main attraction of the day was the ceremonial float – a massive display on wooden wheels, attached to thick ropes, that is pulled down the main street by men wearing traditional hapi clothes. They parked the float in the centre of the festival streets and then put on a grand puppet show. The puppets are exactly the way they were in the past. They’re still hand painted dolls in silk gowns, with painstakingly carved wooden gears that allow the puppets to complete simple movements like little dances or the waving of a sword. The most popular puppets are the archers that are actually able to load a bow and arrow, pull back on the string, and launch mini arrows into the crowd!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

20 thoughts on “Traditional Puppet Show under the Sakura Blossoms

    1. It was! The final half of the puppet show on the float reenacts the ancient origin mythology of Japan. Very neat! I’m so glad I got to see it!

    1. What a coincidence! Mary Poppins happened to be on TV last night. I haven’t seen it in years and it was such a treat to watch after a long day of work. And, especially because I managed to set it to English! 😛

      1. Feed the Birds is my favourite. As a little girl in the 60s, my parents took me to see the movie. I cried at that scene.😉

      2. P.S. See if you can catch Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks in “Saving Mr. Banks”. Very good film about Walt Disney adapting P.L. Travers’ book.

      3. Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll see if I can get hold of it. I’m always on the lookout for a good movie. It should be a nice way to unwind in the evening this weekend!

  1. I happen to have a Japanese cherry blossom in blossom now in my garen! It is so beautiful but these huge trees look just stunning, like magic! What a cool festival under it too! x

    1. Aw your tree is in blossom now? That’s so nice! The blossoms have almost completely ended here now. They are very beautiful though. They’re like big pink fluffy clouds hehe

Leave a Reply

