Grilled Cake with Red Bean Filling

I feel like lately my blog has become all about Japanese sweets. But let’s face it, it’s one of the most fascinating aspects of Japanese cuisine! The amount of attention and detail that goes into creating subtle contrasts in flavour, ingredients, and aesthetics makes Japanese confectionery not only a delicious food, but almost like a form of edible art.

Interestingly, the ingredients are largely the same for the most part, and are kept very minimal. Central indgredients are wheat or rice flour, white or brown sugar, and red or white bean paste, with variations here and there on the way that they are prepared, combined, and cooked.

Today’s sweet is called roppoyaki. The roppo part comes from the word roppon, which means six. And, the yaki means to grill or bake. The roppoyaki has basically the same ingredients as a steamed bun, but instead of being cooked in the steamer, it’s lightly grilled in a pan on all six sides, giving it a richer and denser texture. This roppoyaki was filled with my favorite sweet red bean paste!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

25 thoughts on “Grilled Cake with Red Bean Filling

    1. So many of them are just so gorgeous to look at! And not only that…but they often have some deeper meaning or explanation behind them. I feel like I could almost write an entire research paper on them 😛

    1. I hope you can find these somewhere sometime. Just grilling them instead of steaming them adds such a deeper flavour. Definitely worth a try!

  1. I honestly love that you talk about Japanese sweets all the time, I find myself craving this delicious red bean paste. I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award! I love how your blog posts take me all the way to Japan through food, so I wanted to recognize you for that.
    You can check out my post on it here: http://www.mindfuleatsandtreats.com/liebster-award/
    You only need to participate if you want to! 🙂

    1. Haha thank you! I just find Japanese sweets to be such a fun topic 😛 I really enjoy browsing through your blog, too! I love the way to take your photos. They always look so cozy and make it feel almost like I’m there! I’m so happy that you nominated me. I just visited your post and I love the questions that you asked! You came up with some really neat ones and I look forward to answering them 🙂

  2. It reminds me of the other sweet…Manju? I think? I’m still not accustomed to the taste. They had a bit of an eggy taste !!

    1. You tried it? Neat! Yeah, they do have a stronger flavour than a lot of other traditional Japanese sweets. Grilling them instead of steaming must change the taste and texture a lot. Which other manju did you try? These roppoyaki are also categorized as manju. Apparently manju are any traditional sweet made with wheat/rice/buckweat/etc. flour, and usually with a bean jam filling. That’s a really broad category that pretty much describes nintey percent of all Japanese sweets haha! 😛

      1. The only one I was able to almost get used to was the eggless one.There were three samples I guess one was steamed , another fried and another baked..If I remember correctly. good to know that manju is actually a wide category!

    1. Ah, it’s sweet! The flavor is mild, but almost like chocolate. In Japan, beans are usually sweetened and used in desserts. Japanese sweets are about the same size and shape of Indian desserts, but beans and flour are the main ingredients (instead of milk, like in India). They’re delicious!

      1. We here in India use beans to make spicy dishes. So you’re just like exactly opposite to us. As We can’t even think of sweet beans. 😅😅

      2. Haha I know! I love to make bean curry, and chana, and daal. But here in Japan, people can’t imagine spicy beans. They’re always used as a sweet filling inside bread and cakes 😛

      3. I agree! I wish you could try the Indian restaurants here in Japan. It’s so different from regular Indian food, but it’s such an interesting experience!

Leave a Reply

