Japanese “Snowstorm” Sweets

In Japanese, they’re called fubuki which literally means snowstorm. I just love the name! It suits these sweets perfectly. Now that I think about it, they do look a bit like a snowball or a big rock covered in snow.

The outside is a very thin layer of steamed bread made with yam powder, wheat flour and sugar. On the inside is a generous amount of thick, sweet red bean paste. So simple, but incredibly delicious. A lot of Japanese steamed confectioneries have red bean paste in them, but very few have this much! For that reason alone, I’m completely sold on fubuki! It’s like eating a giant ball of bean paste, which happens to be one of my favorite Japanese sweets.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

24 thoughts on “Japanese “Snowstorm” Sweets

    1. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was. A lot of standard Japanese sweets have a softer, mildly flavoured red bean paste inside, often with other fillers mixed in, but the producer of these fubuki went to the effort to use a high quality, thick paste. So good 😀

      1. Fubuki are always white, since they are named after the snow. Maybe you’re thinking about nerikiri? Nerikiri sweets are made out of white bean paste, whereas fubuki are a sort of steamed bun made from wheat. Nerikiri come in an endless array of shapes and colours, and one of those is definitely pink sakura-related designs in the spring! Another pink sweet I can think of is sakura mochi. Sakura mochi are made from sticky rice, and have a red bean paste on the inside. I love the little intricacies of Japanese sweets haha. It’s truly an art of its own! 😀

    1. Oh yeah, it would be incredible if you actually made it. A freshly made fubuki would be even better. The recipe is so simple and the ingredients are very healthy. As usual, no oil, butter, eggs, etc. Basically just flour, azuki beans, yam powder, and sugar. 🙂

    1. I’m with you on that one! If it has red beans in, I’m all over it. I’m really intrigued by how many different types of red bean paste there are. In Van, the ones in Chinese shops have a distinct taste from the Japanese ones. But then, even within Japan they are so different. Sometimes there’s white bean paste mixed into it. And the best I’ve ever had was a steamed bun filled with red bean paste that was mixed with black sesame paste. It was really rich:D

      1. Haha warm, fluffy carbohydrate. I like the sound of that! Another good filling is lotus paste. It’s a newer one for me, but it’s grown on me 🙂

      2. Oh you have to try it! It’s one of the most popular fillings in moon cakes. The texture is thick, almost like marzipan and the flavour…good question. Hmm it’s almost like a milder, sweeter version of a nut butter or sunflower seed butter 🙂

      3. I have no idea how you got such a massive smiley face but I LOVE it! And that sounds absolutely incredible. Thick and subtle + sweet nut butter?! I need that in my life ASAP

      4. Yeah! And I just noticed recently that in places like T&T Supermarket, you can even buy the lotus paste itself in little plastic tubs. Imagine it as a spread for toast…I plan to try this when I get the chance!

      5. Hehe I’d love to hear what you think if you do! In T&T, it’s usually in the big fridges beside stuff like the tofu and refrigerated steamed buns.

Leave a Reply

