Ridiculously Easy Tofu Tiramisu

I am so stoked about this…it’s kind of life changing. I mean, I like tofu and I’m in love with all the different ways that it can be adapted. But, so far I’ve always stuck to savory dishes and this was my first attempt at using it as a dessert. My mind is blown.

I wanted to make a vegan tiramisu, but to be honest I was expecting it to bite into and think to myself, Oh yeah…this is definitely tofu. But, it tastes so creamy and rich that it’s hard to believe it’s one hundred percent plant based. And not only that, but there’s also no added fats or oils and it only takes a few minutes to throw together!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I just put the following ingredients into a blender and mixed until everything was nice and smooth.

  • 1 block medium firm tofu (This will be about 1 pound. Try to use a good quality tofu because it’s much creamier.)
  • 4 tbsp sugar or agave (Change it up depending on how sweet you want it. This wasn’t super sweet.)
  • 1 tbsp miso (Miso is used in a lot of vegan cheeses to give it that savory taste. If you don’t have miso, I think a bit of tahini or almond butter might work, although the flavor would be different.)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp tapioca starch dissolved in 2 tbsp water (You can add a bit more starch if you want it to be firmer.)

You could honestly get a spoon and eat it straight out of the blender haha. It’s like vanilla pudding! But, here’s an important tip: Let it sit in the fridge at least overnightIf you can manage to let it sit two nights, that’s even better. Fresh out of the blender, it still had a bit of a tofu flavour to it. But after letting it sit in the fridge for two nights, it was heavenly.

In a glass bowl, I crumbled up an oat cookie and a some chunks of chocolate, and then sprinkled in a few drops of brandy (if you have coffee liqueur at home, that might be more authentic). Then, I just scooped on the tofu mix. If you put it back in the fridge for a little while it will firm up. Or, you can just coat it in cocoa powder and dig in right away!

20 thoughts on “Ridiculously Easy Tofu Tiramisu

    1. Me neither! I honestly expected it to taste strongly of tofu, but it tastes like a really rich dessert. I’m thinking of trying to melt chocolate and blend that in to make a tofu chocolate mousse, too. 😀

    1. Thank you! It really surprised me with how good it turned out! I expected it to have a much stronger soy flavour. I’m working on a tofu cheesecake recipe. We’ll see how that goes 😀

    1. Haha yeah! I’ve never used miso in tiramisu either. But, I know that in Japan, macrobio people use miso to make vegan cheese. So, I thought miso might give the tiramisu a mascarpone cheese flavour. It works really well 😀

    1. Oh that sounds really good! I use soy milk in smoothies from time to time, but I love the tofu idea! I hope you do try out the tiramisu, too. It’s so easy, but delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

