Roadtrip to Aomori: Snacks for the Long Drive!

On my last day in Aomori, I left the hotel in the early morning after a hotel breakfast buffet of rice, miso soup, pasta…and of course generous helpings of toast with Aomori’s famous pink apple jam and apple juice. Then we got started on the long drive back home.

Along the way, we stopped a few times to refuel and pick up some snacks. A traditional snack in Aomori is a type of cracker/cookie called nambu sembei, so we of course had to load up on those. Nowadays, you can buy them pretty much all across Japan, but the variety is very limited compared to what you can find in Aomori. The store we went to had one whole aisle filled with them!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Most traditional Japanese crackers (sembei) are made with rice, but nambu sembei are actually made with wheat flour. The two most standard flavours are black sesame and peanut (the peanut ones are my personal favorite), but we also bought some unusual varieties like chili pepper.

Another neat snack that we got were these old school traditional rice puff treats. They look similar to a rice Krispie square, but they’re made with puffed brown rice and coated in molasses. As soon as I had my first bite I realized that the taste was oddly familiar…and then it struck me. They taste exactly like Kashi cereal!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During the drive back, we also made one more random stop at a little store that sells all types of clothing and gear for construction workers. One of the many quirky, fun things about Japan is that the construction workers there dress completely differently from in North America. They wear pants made out of thick fabric, which are super baggy and then tight around the shins and ankles. They endearingly refer to them as knickerbockers (or, nikka-bokkaa in Japanese pronunciation!). They look cool…almost like ninjas!

Another important part of the outfit is the jika-tabi. These are the long, tight boots that they wear, with flexible rubber soles and a separation between the toes. These boots help them keep their balance and stay alert to the ground around them. I tried on a pair. They were surprisingly comfortable! Honest!

14 thoughts on “Roadtrip to Aomori: Snacks for the Long Drive!

  1. I love the pictures of those stores, so lively and well lit. I really like how every store is so well-stocked, yet neatly organized! Great post.

    1. Thank you! You described it perfectly. I love that about Japanese stores. The way that everything is laid out on the shelves makes even grocery shopping a lot of fun 🙂

    1. Haha well I do spend a long time standing there in the aisle squinting at the ingredients! I’m pretty fluent in Japanese, so that helps. But, the most effective way is not to be able to read every single thing on the ingredient list, but to simply know the characters for foods that I want to avoid.
      For example, 乳製品 = dairy; a word with 肉 in it means some sort of meat; a word withh 魚 in it means some sort of fish; and アミノ means MSG. Plus, most chemical ingredients have very similar names to English, so…it’s not too hard!

  2. Great post I love visiting Japan. I was lucky I had an interpreter with me (it was a work trip) in Koyoto and he brought some amazing, some times strange snacks.. loved the sweet potato with sugar for example and the amazing tofu dishes I ate there was so cool !!! Safe travels !!

    1. You must mean daigaku imo! Sweet potatoes caramelized in sugar and soy sauce, with sesame seeds, right? I love those! And real Japanese tofu is so different. Did you try the yuba? It melts in your mouth 🙂

      1. Thanks I may have tried that as the interpreter kept on introducing me to all kinds of food. On the last night I went with him and approx 30 other Japanese colleagues to a ancient samurai house…we ate a meal which the samurai warriors would eat before going into battle. The meal consisted of 14 courses (small portions) 13 of the meals had a different type of tofu and they were all vegan.. that was amazing to me… the people are nice in Japan and their hospitality is something I will never forget… Happy travelling 🙂

Leave a Reply

