Fried Potato Korokke Burger

Korroke are a very popular staple food item in Japan. You can find them in pretty much any supermarket or convenience store, all the way up to higher end restaurants where they’re dressed up with quality ingredients.

I always like to get the veggie ones which are a mashed potato patty mixed with peas and corn, covered in a fine coating of crispy breadcrumbs, and deep fried. This is the most standard type of korokke, but you can also find them made out of mashed pumpkin, tofu pulp, or potatoes mixed with a bit of ground meat. They can be eaten as is, on top of noodles, or as a burger topped with shredded cabbage and sauce. So simple, but they’re really fantastic, especially if you can manage to get your hands on one while it’s still hot!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

6 thoughts on “Fried Potato Korokke Burger

  1. Oooh, I love korokke! I’ve never had one as a burger before, but now I’ll have to try making one, it should be like a good old British chip butty (thick potato fries in a buttered sandwich) but Japanese flavoured with the cabbage and sauce. Mmm 🙂

    1. Ah, I’ve heard of chip butties, but I’ve never actually had one. I’m guessing a korokke burger might be less dense because the korroke is so fluffy. I wonder if I can try making a chip butty at home.
      When I was in India, they also had a similar dish called an aloo tikki burger, which has a mashed potato patty with onion and spices. 😀

    1. I’ve never tried it myself, but I have heard of someone trying it with fish korokke. I’m sure it would taste different, but it might be good!

Leave a Reply

