Japanese Sweets…Little Bites of Heaven

Japanese sweets are up at the very top of my list when it comes to desserts. They’re so creative and pretty, and so many seem to have their own unique history or regional twist. The flavor is usually subtle with a mild sweetness, so they’re perfect if you’re not up to very sugary foods.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A lot of them have some type of filling, the most popular being the traditional sweet red bean paste or white bean paste. In the more modern versions,  it’s also very common to find custard cream or chocolate cream.

The other day, I visited a nearby traditional Japanese sweets shop called Kanokoya. As soon as we stepped inside, we were offered free green tea and sweets on lacquered trays. How amazing is that?! We got to sit down and enjoy our treats while we pondered what to get.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The variety that they served us are called cha manju, which literally means, “tea sweet”. The colour comes from brown sugar or molasses, and they are filled with read bean jam that tastes just like creamy chocolate! Considering that they’re a dessert, cha manju are incredibly healthy, using no oil or eggs. They’re pretty much just flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and red beans.

I think I may need to visit again and try out the rest, but for now I settled on four types of sweets. Here’s what I got:

– A walnut bun with sweet red bean filling:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

– A doughnut filled with sweet red bean paste:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

– A white bun sweetened with Japanese rice wine and filled with red bean paste:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

– And…a sweet, gooey rice cake with red bean paste filling, and whole red beans on the outside:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are of course all sorts of different choices, but red bean paste just happens to be my favorite, so that may end up being a common theme throughout the rest of my trip! Just to give you an idea though, they also had orange, strawberry, banana, sweet white bean, chestnut, and sweet potato fillings.

For this visit, I just stuck to the good old fashioned hardy sweets. These are the kind that people can enjoy on a pretty much regular basis. Nothing too fancy, with simple hardy ingredients. To me, these are actually the best type, but I’m also looking forward to trying out some of the more decadent sweets that are decked out with all kinds of decorations and designs.

19 thoughts on “Japanese Sweets…Little Bites of Heaven

    1. I know what you mean! I live in Canada and I’m just visiting Japan for a little while. When I’m in Canada, I always miss Japanese sweets so much!! Sometimes, I can find them in shops, but they’re so expensive and they taste totally different. Real Japanese food is the best haha

  1. these do look amazing …I’ve had aduki bean paste cake (is that right?) …in the past …lovely and unusual flavours …and just so difficult to make…. hmmm… gorgeous…

    1. Yes, that’s right! They’re called either aduki or azuki. I’m glad you liked it! For some people it can take some getting used to, but for me I loved it immediately because I find it to be so similar to chocolate. I totally agree though, I make azuki paste sometimes and it takes sooo long!

    1. Hahaha close! Doraemon always ate doraeyaki, which are these little sweets with red bean paste sandwiched between two pancake-like things. Also very good! You reminded me that I should go get some while I’m in Japan 😀

  2. I love these all! I wonder what you thought about ‘Daifuku’ (the last one in the photos). I saw our local people gave a various reaction to the texture when they tasted similar kind of sweet.

    1. Mame daifuku are actually one of my absolute favorite sweets. The one in the picture here was pretty good, but the quality of the anko wasn’t the best. I had a yomogi mame daifuku from another shop yesterday, and that was fantastic! I always look forward to getting yomogi daifuku when I come to Japan because it’s so hard to get a hold of in Canada.

      1. I actually don’t know of any Japanese sweet shops in my city. There are large Chinese and Korean grocery stores that sell similar sweets, but they’re not quite the same. There’s a Japanese convenience store that sells pre-packaged Japanese sweets. But, in order to get freshly made wagashi, there are some Japanese people who bake things like daifuku, dorayaki and castella at home and sell them at local farmers’ markets. That’s the best!

Leave a Reply

