Super Easy Apple Pecan Crumble (vegan)

I went out into the garden and picked a basket full of apples to make this really simple and healthy apple crumble. The variety of apples that we have growing on the tree is called Transparent, and they are absolutely perfect for cooking. Just a little bit of heat applied for a even short time will turn the skin soft so you don’t need to peel them at all. If you want to make apple sauce (which I often do!), just heat it a bit longer, mix everything with a spoon, and the apples pretty much puree themselves!

apple crumble2

To start with, I sliced up about twelve apples and arranged them in a pie dish. For the crumble topping, I took some rolled oats, pecans, brown sugar, a bit of flour and just a touch of room temperature vegan butter, and mixed this all together very thoroughly. Sprinkle this over the apples and that’s pretty much all there is to it! You can either bake this in the oven, or what I usually do is just pop it in the microwave for just over ten minutes until the apples are soft. The crumble tastes incredible served with soy milk custard or some coconut ice cream.

apple crumble

34 thoughts on “Super Easy Apple Pecan Crumble (vegan)

    1. That’s a great idea! I’ve been enjoying something similar for breakfast pretty much every morning. I just scoop out the core of the apple with a little knife and fill it with oats, cinnamon, pecans, and raisins. After heating, I sometimes drizzle on a bit of agave. And if you happen to have soy milk on hand, pouring just a tad over top gives it a really creamy flavour πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks! I’m so glad you like it.
      I went to the farmers’ market this weekend and they had some really incredible, juicy apple varieties. It certainly is apple season. You’ll probably get something good πŸ™‚

    1. Aw, that’s so nice of you! I appreciate that. I get all warm and fuzzy at the thought that anyone actually enjoys looking at my blog hahaha
      Thanks for always dropping by πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you so much! My favorite thing is that it’s so healthy that I was just having this everyday for breakfast. Any time I can have dessert for breakfast I’m happy πŸ˜€

  1. Hey! This looks delicious! This sounds like such a good flavor combo! I’ve also nominated you for the Infinity Dreams award over on my blog! Thanks so much for the great posts and ideas! Let me know how the strawberry bread goes if you figure it out!

    1. Aw, thank you so much! I always love dropping by your blog. You have such great ideas and tempting photos πŸ˜€ By the way, I think I discovered your page through your Japan trip photos, which were absolutely awesome and made me so badly want to go back there hahaha πŸ˜› I look forward to future posts!

    1. This was actually the first time I tried adding in pecans! I just threw them in as a last second idea, but it adds so much flavour to it. Have fun apple picking πŸ˜›

    1. Yeah, ice cream does go so well with this! That was one of my favorite desserts growing up — apple sauce or apple crumble from the garden with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. We also grew rhubarb so we’d make a sweet rhubarb strawberry stew which was also amaaazing with ice cream! I don’t usually like just any type of apple either, but I have a soft spot for the ones growing back home πŸ˜€

      1. Mmm that rhubarb and strawberry compote sounds delicious! Vanilla ice cream is amazing on every warm dessert imaginable. πŸ™‚ Can you believe I’ve never had rhubarb? I have no idea how it tastes or how to prepare it. Farmer’s market apples, I find, are really good!

      2. Rhubarb by itself is suuuper sour! I recommend adding a lot of sugar haha. Sometimes I also cook it with figs to add in some sweetness. Once you balance out the sourness of it, it’s absolute heaven.

      3. I’ve actually never had fresh figs either! Not such a fan of the dried ones (unless they’re covered in chocolate)… sounds delicious! I want to try a rhubarb pie now.

      4. It’s so funny you should mention that! I was shopping yesterday and found chocolate covered figs for the first time ever…and chocolate covered mango slices. πŸ˜€
        But, rhubarb and strawberry pie though, you have to try it!! I was planning on picking up a pumpkin pie this weekend but now I’m starting to wonder hahaha

      5. Oooh unfortunately I’m not a fan of mangoes (do you like them?) but the chocolate-covered figs aren’t bad. Did you buy them?
        To be honest I haven’t actually seen many of these pies around, like in farmers markets. Going to open my eyes a bit more!

      6. To be honest, I really disliked mangoes until last year. I’m not sure why but I always thought they tasted like soapy carrots haha πŸ˜›
        But then last summer I was given a really ripe, perfect mango and surprisingly it tasted like vanilla and honey and all kinds of amazingness. Ever since then, they’re one of my top favorite fruits.
        But yeah, there are so many strawberry-rhubarb pies around Van right now!! I hope you can find one where you are πŸ˜€
        I’m actually super happy to discover that the rhubarb is still growing in our garden on the Coast. I thought they’d be over by now!

      7. Yeah, I find that it really does depend on variety and ripeness. Honestly, some are not that great…But if you hit the right one, it’s life changing πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

