Fig Caramel Ice Cream and my garden

Who doesn’t love figs? When they’re ripe, they get all soft and syrupy. So amazing. This summer, I’ve been enjoying them fresh from the fig tree in the garden and I’ve been trying them out in all kinds of recepies — fig jam, fig oatmeal, dried figs, fig apple sauce…you get the idea! They are already plenty sweet on their own, but one awesome way to serve them is to add in a scoop of vegan caramel pecan ice cream and you get this really simple, decadent dessert.

figtree

And, here are some photos of what else has been going on in my garden lately. I didn’t get too serious with planting different vegetables and such this year because I had a whole bunch of projects to attend to over the summer, but I did get a really fun assortment of herbs and flowers, as well as as buckets and buckets of strawberries, apples, blackberries, a few gooseberries, and of course, figs!

chocolate mint
chocolate mint
rosemary
rosemary
sage
sage
stargazer lily
stargazer lily
hydrangea
hydrangea
wild strawberries
wild strawberries
bamboo
bamboo
13 thoughts on “Fig Caramel Ice Cream and my garden

    1. Just thinking about figs makes me miss the summer! Everything in the garden is dormant for now. Is it the same over there? I can’t wait until the warm season returns!

      1. Nice! I should prepare my garden better next year so that I’ll have some fall and winter veggies as well. I guess the main thing that I have left in the garden is rosemary and a few other hardy herbs.

Leave a Reply

