Travelling Japan: Harajuku and Indian Spices

On one of my trips out to Tokyo, I spent the day exploring Shin-Ōkubo and Harajuku. I walked around the area outside Harajuku station, experiencing both the hectic streets lined with all kinds of novelty shops, as well as the serenity of a couple of nearby shrines. At the shrines, I was lucky enough to stumble across a few traditional style weddings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking down the street just outside the Shin-Ōkubo train station, I noticed sacks of Thai and basmati rice sitting by a storefront. The whole trip, this was the first time that I had come across a shop with long grain rice. Looking around me, I realized that I had happened to wander into a small pocket of Indian, Middle Eastern, and Nepali shops and restaurants, selling pretty much everything I had been looking for. They had cardamom, fennel, chickpeas, lentils, tahini…so happy! I love Japanese food, but I was thrilled to be able to make some daal, chana, aloo ghobi, and even a bit of hummus! I also stopped for lunch at the Nepali restaurant. A little on the pricey side of what I am used to, but still, it was probably the most authentic South Asian cuisine I have had in Japan so far.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

spices

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 thoughts on “Travelling Japan: Harajuku and Indian Spices

Leave a Reply

