Grilled and Seasoned Tofu Strips

I made burritos for dinner and I wanted to add a bit more bite to them without having to use processed vegan meat, so I tried grilling some slices of extra firm tofu. It’s a lot faster than baked tofu and requires a lot less planning ahead. It sounds pretty strange, but steak rub (at least the one I found) is actually vegan. It’s just a mixture of garlic, onion, a bunch of spices, and salt, and so I use this to give a really nice smokey, grilled flavour to the tofu. I just mix it with a bit of soy sauce, roll the tofu around in it, and pop it into the grill for a few minutes. That’s really all there is to it, and the tofu comes out with this almost crispy texture on the outside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To make things even simpler, sometimes I even skip the grilling step and just put the spice and soy sauce mixture straight onto some thick slices of warmed tofu, for some easy and satisfying tofu steaks in a pinch. Why not? I’m all about the short cuts =)

steak tofu

5 thoughts on “Grilled and Seasoned Tofu Strips

    1. Thanks! And I appreciate the comment on the photos, too. I had a bit of a struggle getting the right angle for lighting, so I’m glad they turned out okay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

