Travelling Japan: Chipmunks and Pumpkin Curry

I took a trip out to Kasama, a Japanese city known since early times for its gorgeous and high quality pottery ware. I spent hours exploring all the shops, finding everything from the traditional style bowls and cups, to a whole slew of these little critters. These guys were way too cute. This chipmunk was one of my favorites!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Afterwards, we stopped for lunch at a cozy little restaurant (which also had a number of clay crafts for sale). I ordered a vegetable pumpkin curry and also snagged a few bites from this suiton lunch set. Suiton is a traditional dish that actually tastes a lot like udon noodles, except that the wheat flour is formed into these dumplings instead of being flattened out and cut up into long strips. Suiton was a first for me, but I really liked the texture and simplicity of it. When I got back home I tried making my own suiton by combining oat and wheat flour with a little soy sauce, which worked really well. So much easier and faster than noodles!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

