Black Forest Cake Oatmeal

I had a bowl of frozen cherries sitting on the counter, and then the idea struck me. Oatmeal…and chocolate. I’ve never had cherries in my morning oats before, but the combination actually works out great! Into my usual bowl of steel cut oats, I added in a teaspoon of cocoa, a splash of almond milk, crushed walnuts, and a few chunks of dark chocolate. To prep the cherries, I mixed in a scoop of tapioca starch, as a lot of juice comes out of the frozen cherries when they defrost and the starch helps to hold it all together. I then heated the cherries until the juice thickened slightly to get a nice sauce to drizzle on top! This made for the most decadent bowl of Black Forest cake oatmeal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

14 thoughts on “Black Forest Cake Oatmeal

    1. Awesome! I really do hope you try it. I can’t believe how well cherries go with oats. (And the few slices of dark chocolate really tops it off!)

      1. It is so true! While oatmeal can mask the flavors of some fruits, like apples or citrus, cherries seem to release their flavor into oatmeal. Cherries and Grapes are the ultimate oatmeal add-ins!

      2. Exactly! And cherries actually seem to make the oatmeal richer and smoother, too. This is the first I’ve heard of adding in grapes though! Do you heat them together with the oats, or add them on top after making the oatmeal?

      3. If I am cooking them on the stove, I usually add them about a minute before the oats are done cooking. In baked oatmeal, I just stir them right in with the batter and am always amazed at how much the release their flavor when baked!!

      4. Oh, very neat! I never would have thought of doing that. I’m always trying to think of new combinations of flavours for my oats, so I’m looking forward to trying this out for sure. 😀

Leave a Reply

