Vegan Mango Sushi <3

I’ve completely fallen in love with mangoes this summer, and while I still think that they are at their absolute best when eaten straight, I’m pretty much game for any dish that has the word mango in it. So, I decided to try out making my own mango sushi, which is found in just about every Japanese restaurant across Vancouver right now. (Do they do this in your city, too?)

It adds a beautiful texture and sweetness, and next to avocado, it’s probably the closest thing to vegan sashimi out there.

mango sushi 2

mango sushi 1

11 thoughts on “Vegan Mango Sushi <3

    1. Thanks a lot! Usually the Vancouver restaurants are pretty good at having veggie sushi options, but it’s pretty much limited to avocado rolls, cucumber rolls, and yam tempura rolls. =P
      Mango rolls are a bit of a hit and miss as to whether they have fish in them or not hehe

    1. Thanks! Yeah I love love sushi a lot, too. Luckily I was always more into rolls than sashimi, and besides with great alternatives like avocado and mango, all sushi cravings get satisfied 😛
      I’ll be sure to check out your blog 🙂

  1. funny, this is the second time I’ve seen mango paired with sushi within the last hour, whilst I had never even heard of this before (and I have been eating sushi for the last ten years or so…so although I wouldn’t call myself an expert, I have seen quite a bit of combinations)
    will have to try this out 🙂

    1. Oh, interesting! Where are you at? I wonder if mango sushi is a west coast thing. I know that my Japanese friends and a few friends from America were surprised to see yam tempura sushi on the menu, but I had been thinking it was a really standard item. Local variations and custom rolls are definitely part of what makes sushi so fun 😛

Leave a Reply

