Vegan “Butter Chicken”

While I was out grocery shopping the other day, I came across some jars of butter chicken curry — a very popular style of Indian curry which typically contains yogurt/cream and butter. I got inspired to see if I could come up with my own veganized version at home. Here’s what I came up with!

veg butter chicken1

I also experimented with making my own “chicken” pieces. I prepared the ingredients for these and formed the mixture into small nuggets before I began making the curry.  This gave them time to firm up so that they bind together to keep them from crumbling and falling apart. After about half an hour, I cooked them in the contact grill.

  • 4 heaping tbsp flour
  • 1/3 block of extra firm tofu
  • ground dried onion
  • garlic powder
  • nutritional yeast
  • five-spice powder
  • white pepper
  • ground chia seeds

For the curry, I began by sauteing some madras curry powder and garam masala, then added in 2tbsp of flour. I roasted it all on low heat until the flour turned a very pale brown. Then I slowly added in just enough soy milk to make it into a thick gravy, stirring it in gradually to keep it from getting lumpy. Once I had this thick sauce, I added in nutritional yeast, chili sauce, tomato puree, salt, white pepper, and a bit of water.

  • madras curry powder
  • garam masala
  • flour
  • soy milk
  • nutritional yeast
  • chili sauce
  • tomato puree
  • salt
  • white pepper

veg butter chicken2

9 thoughts on “Vegan “Butter Chicken”

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I was super happy with it. It was surprisingly cheesy somehow! When I ate it I felt guilty like I was eating cheese sauce and I had to keep reminding myself that it’s just soy milk 😛
      So yeah, turned out great!!

  1. This looks great and your chicken pieces sound really interesting. I never would have thought to use chia seeds for that. Also, I wanted to let you know I gave you a shout out in my Mother’s Day post 🙂

    1. I just keep a a jar of pre-ground chia seeds in the fridge, and toss in a scoop or two when I’m making things like burgers, etc. that need a bit of thickening up. Works great!
      And thank you so much for the shout out!! I’m completely honoured 😀

      1. That’s a great idea. I always add chia seeds into my baked goods, pancakes, and smoothies. I guess I never thought of them as savory. You are very welcome. I’ve loved everything you’ve posted since I started following you so I thought it was a worthy mention.

Leave a Reply

