Potato-stuffed Bread, Fresh Salsa, and Vegan Chili

I spent the day cooking up a big pot of vegan chili, fresh salsa, and some more of my new favorite flatbread (paratha) stuffed with potato masala.

aloo paratha2

This time I actually recorded the recipe for the bread so that I can recreate it with a little more accuracy next time!

  • 6 heaping tbsp atta flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil (or vegan butter)
  • just enough water to knead it into a firm dough

I began by sifting the dry ingredients together, then kneaded in the water and a few drops of olive oil. I made the dough in the morning, and let it sit for several hours. Just before dinner, I stretched it out and placed a large scoop of potato masala in the centre, then folded the dough over, flattened it by hand, and heated it in my contact grill for a few minutes. This time I didn’t even use a rolling pin which actually made it a lot easier to handle.

aloo paratha4

For the fresh salsa, I just chopped up 3 roma tomatoes, 1/2 an onion, and a bundle of cilantro, then mixed it together with a heaping tbsp of tomato puree and some green chickpeas. I also added in some salt, black pepper, garlic powder and chili paste.

aloo paratha1

For the chili, I cooked up about 2 cups of an assortment of dried beans, lentils and peas, and let it simmer with: 1/2 an onion, tomato puree, 1 roma tomato, a handful of cilantro, green chickpeas, corn, chili paste, garlic powder, black pepper, salt, and 1/2 tsp of madras curry powder.

aloo paratha3

2 thoughts on “Potato-stuffed Bread, Fresh Salsa, and Vegan Chili

Leave a Reply

