Potato-Stuffed Flatbread

When I was travelling in India, one of the most common dishes that I was given for breakfast was aloo paratha. When I first saw them, I thought they would be very tricky to make (I had no idea how they got the potato in there!), but I gave it a try for the first time this morning. Turns out it’s not too hard after all, plus they were super fun to put together.

paratha2 paratha3paratha4paratha1

To make the potato filling, I sauteed some onions and cumin, then added in boiled potatoes plus a couple scoops of madras curry powder and chili.

For the bread, I simply kneaded together some atta flour, a few drops of oil, and a pinch of salt, with just enough water to create a firm dough.

Then I wrapped up a scoop of potato masala with a stretched out piece of dough, and gently flattened it out with a rolling pin. Instead of frying the parathas in a pan, I actually just popped them into the contact grill. Turned out fantastic!

2 thoughts on “Potato-Stuffed Flatbread

Leave a Reply

