Handmade Veggie Gyoza

I came across a shop that freshly rolls out pretty little gyoza wraps of various colours (naturally died with veggies or wild rice), and I had the sudden urge to try making my own batch of vegan gyoza.

gyoza4

I made the filling at random, but somehow it ended up tasting not too unlike the commercial ones that I buy in stores. I just threw all the ingredients in to taste, so amounts varied with each batch that I made, but here’s my best recreation of the recipe!

  • Blend two small blocks of extra firm tofu lightly in the food processor so that the pieces are not too small, then place in a large bowl.
  • In the food processor, make a finer mixture of lightly cooked carrots, mushrooms, and cabbage, and add to the tofu.
  • Saving half of the cabbage leaves to chop by hand (instead of blending) gives the mix a good texture.
  • Briefly stir some rice vermicelli into boiling water (it cooks very quickly), chop it into fine pieces and add in with the rest of the mix.
  • For flavouring, I added in: nira chives, ginger, garlic, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce, five-spice powder, white pepper, and nutritional yeast.
  • Ground chia seeds and tapioca starch helped to firm up the mixture.

gyoza3gyoza5

I also went a little crazy and tried filling some wraps with purple yam…and they turned out a lot like pierogies! (Plus the colour is just so pretty.)

gyoza6gyoza1

  • nira chives
8 thoughts on “Handmade Veggie Gyoza

    1. Thanks!! They’re coloured with spinach, which also has the bonus of making the green ones a little softer. They also have some red ones dyed with black wild rice. 🙂

    1. For sure! They’re actually really fun to make, and I love that you can get creative and come up with all kinds of different fillings for them. 😀

  1. Wow, this looks amazing, I must try it. What is the dark purple stuff in the filling? Oh, purple yam, got it. What a wonderful way to get color and nutrition in there. Way to go.
    D

    1. Thanks! Yeah, after I got finished making a whole batch of gyoza the traditional way, I made some purple yam ones and a whole bunch of samosa-style gyoza filled with some potato masala that I cooked up, complete with a tomato-based dipping sauce XD Haha definitely not conventional, but they came out great and they were really fun to make!

    1. Aw thanks!! I’m glad you think so. It look a while to figure out how to wrap them so that they don’t look like a complete mess haha 😛

Leave a Reply

