Breakfast in Dehradun

During most of my time in India, I stayed at the Faculty Lodge on a university campus in Dehradun. They served three meals a day in what they referred to as the mess hall. The meal times were all a couple hours later than the norm in Canada, with breakfast coming out after 8am, lunch around 2pm, and dinner no earlier than 7pm (or often closer to 8pm).

I’ve gathered up some photos of my typical breakfasts at the mess hall — simple foods, but delicious. I have to say that the only issue for me was the heavy use of oil in just about every dish. After a while, though, I started asking the cooks to prepare whatever they could for me on the side, with no oil, and most of the time they very kindly cooked up some fresh, non-fry parathas (sometimes potato stuffed!). Indian hospitality at its best ^^

paratha
These oil-free parathas were the most typical breakfast for me — sometimes with a bowl of potato curry on the side, or more often, a powerful homemade chutney.
pav bhaji
This was also a fairly common breakfast called “pav bhaji”. Apparently, it’s a popular street food in western India, and is usually served as a quick evening meal. The “pav” part is the bread, and the “bhaji” part refers to the thick vegetable curry.
breakfast
This is puri (deep-fried unleavened bread) and aloo bhaji (potato curry). It’s another popular street food and breakfast item that was available in restaurants, the roadside, railway platforms…pretty much everywhere!
Medu vada. This was a very rare treat, but I think it was mostly because it's a south Indian dish, and I was in the north. They're actually doughnuts made out of lentils! As per tradition, served with sambar and coconut chutney.
Medu vada. This was a very rare treat, but I think it was mostly because it’s a south Indian dish, and I was in the north. They’re actually doughnuts made out of lentils! As per tradition, served with sambar and coconut chutney.
Naan and daal (lentil curry).
Naan and chana masala (chickpea curry). The way that naan is served at every single Indian restaurant in Vancouver, you’d think that it would be everywhere in India, but I only had it a few times! I think, again, it must be a more regional food.
Spicy pasta with ketchup on the side. Luckily, this dish was only served three times...I have to say it was fine, but not the best :P
Spicy pasta with ketchup on the side. Luckily, this dish was only served three times…I have to say it was fine, but not the best 😛
Leave a Reply

