Vegan ‘Okara’ Burgers

This summer I’ve been going on long walks through the city, particularly around some of the more historical areas. I came across one of the original tofu factories and a major producer of tofu products in Canada. I was surprised to find that they were selling large batches of okara (the soy pulp that is left over from the production of tofu, soy milk, etc). I know it’s a well known food in Japan, but I didn’t expect to find it here. …And it was super cheap, going for just one dollar!!

I ended up buying some and took it home to experiment on “okara burgers”. I am super pleased with the result!

okara-burger

Into the approximately one pound of okara, I added in the following ingredients to taste.

  • fresh cilantro
  • ground chili pepper
  • madras curry powder
  • garam masala, coriander
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • soy sauce
  • tapioca starch

…then just put it in the grill (no oil).

If you can get your hands on some, okara is the perfect vegan food – it’s very rich in fiber, and even higher in protein than the tofu itself!!

okara

10 thoughts on “Vegan ‘Okara’ Burgers

    1. Yeah, I hope you do. I’ve been trying out the okara in a few different dishes, and it adds great texture to things like pasta sauce and curries =)

    1. I’m not too sure if every factory sells their okara, but if you use a lot of tofu, soy milk, etc. in your diet, tofu factories are still well worth a visit. The one I found sells their products at a reduced price, as long as you don’t mind buying them before they’ve put on all the nice labels and packaging…plus it’s just pretty fun!

  1. Wow! That’s really cool. I was first drawn in since I love okra…… but then I realized that my eyes had played a trick on me. I wonder what options I have in Los Angeles for this stuff. We have a huge Asian population, so hopefully it won’t be a problem.

    1. I hope you do! Since you’re in Japan, you probably can get hold of okara easier than I can. Recently, the tofu factory here stopped selling it. I’m going to have to try bugging the shopkeepers haha

Leave a Reply

