Sizzling Tofu!

I made sizzling tofu for the first time the other night! I love it – it tastes pretty much identical to the tofu teriyaki dishes I order at Japanese restaurants.

sizzling tofu

I started by thoroughly rinsing eight blocks of agedashi tofu (fried tofu) in hot water to get off any excess oil, then heated them on the stove until they were crisp on the outside. For the sauce, I mixed together one tablespoon each of red miso, agave, soy sauce, and tapioca starch, plus a bit of water. I put this all in a non-stick pan at low heat to melt the ingredients together, then raised the temperature and added in the tofu. From there, it just takes another five minutes or so for the tofu to soak in some of the sauce, and then I sprinkle on some sesame seeds, and it’s done!

tofu and sprouts bowl

3 thoughts on “Sizzling Tofu!

Leave a Reply

