Fresh Huckleberry and Apple Jam

The huckleberries are finally nice and ripe so I went out and gathered up as many as I could reach. It’s only a small bowl full, but this is actually the most I’ve ever picked…as I re-learn each summer, it takes a lot of patience to pick huckleberries! Half of the little guys made it to the bowl, and the other half slipped through my fingers and got lost in the bushes.

Together with some transparent apples from the tree, and a handful of gooseberries, I cooked up my first ever batch of huckleberry jam!

The jam came out this gorgeous pink colour and had a really pleasant, rich flavour.

…And I really love that I was able to make it using nothing but ingredients taken straight from the garden. That way I can be one hundred percent sure there’s no funky chemical sprays or anything going on…just good fresh organic foods!

14 thoughts on “Fresh Huckleberry and Apple Jam

    1. haha sorry it took me so long to respond! I’ve been keeping myself away from the computer while I studied for my last exam, or else I knew I’d get distracted =P
      I’m glad you like it though! I already ate it all 😀

  1. Wow! I can’t believe how beautiful the color is on that! I’ve wanted to make huckleberry jam for the longest and the beautiful color makes me want to try it even more now!

    1. Hi! I’m so sorry for the late response! I wasn’t letting myself anywhere near the computer while I finished off the last of my exams for the summer haha
      But, yes I couldn’t believe it either – I wasn’t expecting such a rich pink color! The photos really don’t do it justice. This was my first time cooking anything with huckleberries, but I absolutely recommend giving it a go. They’re actually pretty fantastic little berries 🙂

      1. No worries about the response, I’ve also been away from the computer. I will definitely be on the look out for these little berries though…this seems like something I can’t pass up trying! How is the flavor?

      2. The flavor was actually really pleasant – I added only a little agave so it was tart, but not sour. I made it the way I usually make apple butter. I use transparent apples from the tree so they’re very soft and so I only slice them and heat them in a pan on the stove at low heat until it gets nice and thick, except I added in huckleberries near the end instead of the usual cinnamon. So, I guess you could say it tastes a lot like a sweeter apple butter 🙂

      3. Oh interesting! Thanks! I will definitely give this technique a go one day when I get ahold of these berries and some apples. This sounds more and more delicious! Did you use agave nectar? Sorry, I don’t know much about agave, so I don’t even know if there is another form.

      4. Yup that’s right, I just buy agave nectar in little jugs. It’s a really great sweetener – I think it tastes a lot like a mild honey 😀

      5. I’ll have to pick up a bottle next time I come across it…sounds like it’ll be an interesting and useful addition to the pantry. This probably also sounds silly, but is transparent apple a variety of apple? If so, is there a particular reason you chose to use this apple?

      6. Hi! So sorry about the late reply. Yes, transparent is indeed a variety of apple. I use it because it grows in my garden, but mainly because transparents melt into a smooth mush just by heating them so they’re super easy to use in cooking. If I want to make a quick apple sauce, I often only have to heat them up in the microwave or on the stove and they turn quite nicely into a smooth tart sauce!

    1. aw thanks Sophie 😀 I’m glad you like it!
      You know me though, all my cooking is really simple stuff. Believe it or not, I just heated slices of transparent apples and agave in a pan on the stove until it got soft and added in the huckleberries! It came out pretty delicious, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

