Potato Curry with Mustard Seed

When I was preparing to make this post, I did a little reading up on mustard seeds and I discovered that they actually have profound importance in history, particularly in religion. I had no idea, but apparently they were first mentioned in India in the story of the Buddha way back in 500 BCE. A mother who had just lost her child went to the Buddha searching for a cure for death, and he told her to  go get a mustard seed from a house where no death had ever occurred, and when she was unable to find such a seed, it was revealed that death cannot be prevented and it is something that all people must experience.

Apparently, the mustard seed also has huge importance in a number of other historic texts – a discovery that made this dinner taste even more special!  (:

Anyhow, here’s a great idea for serving up left over baked potatoes! I prepared them in an Indian style to add to my plate of chana and cauliflower curry.

I just put them on the stove in a nonstick pan with a little bit of water and added in:

  • mustard seed
  • turmeric
  • garam masala
  • coriander
  • black pepper
  • chli

And once it was hot, I added in the green peas. That’s pretty much all there was to it, and I had a whole new dish to enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Potato Curry with Mustard Seed

    1. haha thanks 😀 I thought it was pretty neat when I heard about it it =P I had no idea the mustard seed was such a big deal!

Leave a Reply

