Vegan Barley Bread & Russian Black Bread <3

I went out shopping last night and found myself on a bit of a bread spree (:  Pretty unusual for me because I’m not normally a big bread-eater, but there were so many neat things I’d never tried before. I caved and bought the Russian black bread and the GF chia bread. I also came across barley bread which I ended up not buying, but I picked up some barley flour and tried making it myself.

I’m really happy with how it turned out!

The ingredients were:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups barley flour
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 1-1/2 tsp yeast
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp oil

And this is the Russian black bread:

They made a really amazing afternoon snack, together with my favorite mug of coffee! (:

7 thoughts on “Vegan Barley Bread & Russian Black Bread <3

      1. Ah, sure thing:
        Put the yeast in a bowl of water with a tsp of sugar and let it sit for 10 mins.
        Then, add in the rest of the ingredients and knead by hand (I just throw it in the bread machine and let it do the kneading for me!).
        When the dough is ready, let it sit at warm temperature for about 40mins to let it rise (room temp is ok if it’s summer time, or otherwise, just put it in the oven with the light on).
        Then, knead it again, and put it in the shape you want.
        Put in in the oven for 15-20mins at lowest temperature to let it rise again.
        Then, take it out of the oven, raise the temperature to 400 degrees, and put the bread back in for 15-20 mins.
        When the bread looks lightly brown, it’s ready!
        Happy baking 😀

Leave a Reply

