Giant Chia & Miracle Vegan Egg Replacer!

Hi! 😀

I really wanted to make a quick post to let you all know that I’m still alive! I know I’ve been neglecting my blog lately while I finish off my papers and study for finals, but I have so many exciting recipes that I want to share as soon as I have time (:

But for now, I’ve got to show you all this amazing seed I discovered in one of those Taiwanese stores I go to. It’s like one giant chia seed!! You can use it in pretty much all the same ways that you use chia, but these big guys absorb sooo much more liquid…they’re huge!

I found them online, too. Looks like they’re called “wild starch pearls” or “sweet basil seeds“.

And you know what, I ground them up to make a kind of flour…and it’s absolutely incredible!! It’s really a miracle egg replacer and it works beautifully in baking. I’ve been trying out some recipes and I’ll make some posts on them as soon as I find another free moment 😀

12 thoughts on “Giant Chia & Miracle Vegan Egg Replacer!

  1. Yay! I also used chia seed instead of flaxseed when replacing eggs! But the sweet basil seeds seem like a great replacer, too! Will definitely try to find some and test!

Leave a Reply

