Pakora (aka Bhajia) – Vegan Indian Food

If you couldn’t already guess from all my posts on curry and biryani…I looove Indian food! So, today I tried making pakora (aka bhajia) for the first time! It’s a bit of a deviation from my usual recipes because this one actually uses some oil, but I figure it’s still better this way than the ones I get at restaurants…my justification (:

Here’s what I did:

Put the following ingredients in a big bowl.

  • 2 cups chana flour (chickpea flour – you can find it at an Indian grocers, or in the international section of your regular shops)
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • some ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp chili powder (amount varies depending on how hot your chili powder is…mine is quite mild)
(These are the spices I used because it’s what I happened to have on hand, but next time I’ll likely try out other combinations of spices depending on what I have kicking around at home.)

…and some veggies:

  • 1/2 a cup to 1 cup of cauliflower (finely diced)
  • 1/8 cup chopped onions
  • 1/8 cup greens (cilantro or basil works well)

I added just enough water to mix it all it into a thick paste (the consistency of muffin dough).

To cook it all up, I just pan fried scoops of it in a bit of oil.

Then, I made a spicy dip and packed it up to take to some friends (:

Turned out amazing! I wasn’t sure if I could make these at home because I usually just get them at the local Indian restaurants, but these taste much better!

2 thoughts on “Pakora (aka Bhajia) – Vegan Indian Food

Leave a Reply

