Homemade Cheese Spread (vegan)

If you looked at tonight’s post on lemon curd, you may have noticed that when it was spread on toast, it really resembled something…cheese!!

So, naturally, I made cheese (:

  • 1tsp fermented tofu (I tried this for the first time, and in small doses, the smell resembles cheese)
  • a pinch of salt
  • kelp powder (Gives it a mild flavour. I’m thinking nutritional yeast might work as well.)
  •  1/4 cup firm tofu
  • 3tbsp of my vegan lemon curd
  • a pinch of dried onion
  • a pinch of chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

And then, I mixed them all up with my mortar & pestle to make it into a fine paste (the amount was too small for a food processor).

– Tastes great for things like pizza toast (:  Next, I’m going to try making an actual whole pizza, stand by for photos 😀

By the way, I just found this great site  while I was looking for an explanation of fermented tofu. It lists and explains pretty much every soy product I can think of! Check it out if you’re interested:

http://www.foodsubs.com/Soyprod.html

Leave a Reply

