Tofu Meatballs Recipe <3

Upon request, I’m updating with the recipe for my favorite tofu meatballs that I made a post on earlier this month!

It’s actually a modified version of the one found at Post Punk Kitchen.  The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly, but every time following, I found it to be more practical for me to try to use up whatever I had in my fridge, so that’s how the following recipe was born:

Here’s what I use:

  • A full package (350 grams) of extra firm organic tofu
  • 2tbsp organic almond butter (I substitute this with tahini sesame paste for people with nut allergies)
  • 1 tbsp miso
  • about 3 tbsp salsa (adds a really nice flavour!)
  • 3tbsp soy sauce
  • a few tsp garam masala
  • 2tsp Mrs. Dash
  • 2tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3tbsp dried onion flakes…or 1 small finely chopped onion

I prefer to crumble the tofu by hand to give it a more meaty texture, but if I’m in a rush the food processor works, too.

Once the tofu is in very, very fine pieces, I mix it up with all the ingredients in a big bowl.

Then, I lay out a plate with some flour, and roll the mix into balls.

The last step is to pan fry them in a little oil.

– All together, it takes me about 25 mins, and you can add in or take away any ingredients you like…they’re always really tasty, you can’t go wrong! These are the ingredients I use because I happen to have them, but honestly they taste just fine with half the ingredients 😛

The almond butter is the only thing that I always add without fail, just because it works really well to thicken it all up.

4 thoughts on “Tofu Meatballs Recipe <3

  1. yum – I need to check these out asap
    chia seeds may work well as a good thickener too if people don’t have almond butter or tahini on hand – it just needs liquid and some time to get the deed done (:

Leave a Reply

