Azuki & Mochi Pudding Recipe

Upon request from luminousvegans, I’m updating with a recipe for the dango (sweet sticky rice mochi dumplings) and oshiruko  (sweet azuki bean soup) dish I posted yesterday!

I apologize that it’s not very precise though, because every time I just kind of wing it and it’s a little different.

For the dango, you’ll need:

– 1/2 cup of mochiko rice flour

– 1tsp sugar (or some other sweetener)

Mix those together in a bowl and add just enough boiling water to moisten it, and stir it all in.

Knead it with your hands or a spatula

Roll it into balls with the help of a little cornstarch

Then, just drop them in boiling water, and when they float, they’re done!

For the oshiruko pudding, you’ll need some azuki beans.

– Soak them in water for about 5 hours

– Boil and then drain the water

– Add some more cold water and simmer until most of the water is evaporated

The height of the water should be about 5x as high as the beans, as azuki beans are expected to swell to 5x their size.

The simmering time varies a lot depending on the heat and the amount of beans, but for me, it usually takes about half a day.

I know it’s ready when the beans are very soft and I can easily stir it into a bit of a paste with my spatula.

Once I’ve done that, I add some sweetener to taste. I used to use sugar, but agave seems to work just fine! Again, the amount of sugar varies a lot! Some people like it very sweet, but when I eat it in the soup form like this, I tend to put a little less sweetener.

Again, sorry if my recipe is a little vague, I hope it makes sense!

6 thoughts on “Azuki & Mochi Pudding Recipe

  1. I absolutely love sweet rice dumplings! I will have to get my hands on some of that flour (can be a challenge living so close to the middle of nowhere). It has been years since I’ve eaten them.

    I had no idea the instructions would be so simple. Can’t wait to try this. 😀

  2. Thanks! Let me know how it goes!
    haha I feel for you, I got back to my little hometown yesterday for reading break and I was bouncing from store to store looking for wasabi and eventually found an overpriced tin in powder form :P…I hope you’ll be able to find some mochiko in your area!

Leave a Reply

